[adimike55’s social dreams] TWITTERTWATTLE


While I’ve been aware of the many new social media platforms over the last few years, I have to say that they have been exotic, if not uninteresting, to me until the last year or so.

When I was working in the video business, we tried a MySpace page, but it all felt so detached and frankly futile. You posted stuff up there, you ran notes, people added notes, and while at times a page could get a dialogue going, most of the time it simply became a case of you posting something and hoping that it would develope some attention.

My purpose for this was strictly business. As with millions of non-tech people, we knew the name, but saw it as not for us. We tried and tried to get the pages to where I wanted them to be, a two way conversation, but I was never satisfied that they accomplished that. Too much talking at the customer, not with the customer.

Then, 3 years ago, through the social fan site of NBC’s THE OFFICE, I joined http:www.dundermifflininfinity.com as a member of the Allentown Branch. The site was a virtual extension of the storyline that had the company set up an intranet,  that fell apart when Ryan Howard was arrested for various infractions. (Watch the show,  I’m not here to rehash plot lines.)

The branches which eventually numbered 100, where all comprised of members who would work together on tasks, set up forum discussion, have competitions, and earn virtual pay. It was so successful that out own group had three get-togethers at Hersheypark, and up until this point, we didn’t know each other, but trust me, we are all good real friends now.

It was so removed from the static MySpace experience, and really intrigued me because of the possibilities that I saw in modifying the game to turn my video stores into virtual film buff communities.

Sadly, my company didn’t know how to be forward thinkers in the internet arena, and did not want to even try anything more than a title list online for the stores(How boring).

Once I was downsized and let go, I pouted and ranted for a while (and my first attempt at a blog was excellent but was too oriented to being my way of bitching about what happened, all valid and truthful points, but not forward thinking). That is why I decided to start a second blog that would be more towards what I can bring to any business in the future.

Hence, we go 2.0.

In the same action, I started to look at all the social media sites, and there are plenty. As I looked at each one, I fully  immersed myself in each aspect of the sites, trying to see how to harness the good parts and find the silly ones that would work.

This is not my genius at work. This is simply how I see them, what I personally value in each platform, and what it takes to get the non-user both active and involved. You can say that it is what I would want to get out of them, but I think it is also what would be benefit most people over the course of time. And time also relates to how long each platform stats relevant before it becomes passé.

I’ll separate them out by platform, and do one or two each night. I’ll head them with [adimike55’s social dreams].

Most of all, I’d love to have your feedback, whether you agree with me or not, because I am here to learn, as well .

One comment on “[adimike55’s social dreams] TWITTERTWATTLE

  1. I’ve done much the same thing in trying to figure out the value of social media platforms. Since resources — mainly time — are limited, I’ve found it best to stick with what works and leave the rest alone.

    I think what’s most important is knowing which outlet works best in your content area. If a certain company we both worked for had been thinking ahead, then perhaps they might’ve done more work in building a blog on the site that serviced the business by leveraging the staff’s knowledge and passion for film. It wouldn’t have been hard to build a great audience around it!

    What I’ve found in my own experience is that Facebook trumps Twitter for sheer organizing power around a particular interest. Put another way: Twitter’s great for building a personal brand; Facebook’s the way to get people excited about what it is you’re into.

    Just my .02.

Leave a Reply

