Old Friends


Talking to a friend about the TOWER THEATER in Upper Darby got me to thinking, a rare occurrence indeed.

At 54, I have now reached the outer rim of being able to wax nostalgic about “Why, in my day, yada, yada, yada…”). It feels very weird, because when I was younger, I figured that some of these were cool, but hey, welcome to progress 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, 2010, etc.

However, as I now look at what I remember from “back in the day” and think back to my dad and mom’s stories “back in the day”, I realize that they were not really talking about a physical thing being missing, but an atmosphere, a feeling , a moment in time. They didn’t miss the corner ice cream shop, they missed what it meant.

I figured I’d take the advice of a good friend and Phillies fan, JTRamsey, and just reminisce about the Philly I knew growing up, not some much what I saw, but what I felt.

So, as I figure out WordPress and figure out where I go moving forward, watch for some gentle thoughts and I invite you to add yours to the memories. In addition, ask me questions, and I’ll try to fill in the blanks.

In this, I hope to paint a vibrant mind picture of why other things that I mention in other blog posts are so important to me. Why the concept that “Hey, old friend, that’s cool, but this is the future” is intriguing and inevitiable, but maybe not necessarily exclusive of what went before…

Hey, old friend,

Are you okay, old friend?

What do you say, old friend,

Are we or are we unique?

Time goes by, Everything else keeps changing.

You and I, We get continued next week.


Most friends fade

Or they don’t make the grade.

New one’s are quickly made

And in a pinch, sure, they’ll do.

But us, old friend,

What’s to discuss, old friend?

Here’s to us —

who’s like us?


Damn few!


Leave a Reply

