FALLING SKIES: Yeah, I’ve Been Watching The “SKIES”


A quick note about all my FALLING SKIES:

I have become hooked on FALLING SKIES on TNT (This Sunday is the Season Finale at 9 PM). However, my love of the way the show works comes directly out of my past experiences.

I have always been a huge TV and Movie fan. That may be the reason why I spent 27 great years in the home video industry. It was great while it lasted and it was great to have an impact on an area of creativity that you personally love.

Much of what I did for 27 years was creative, as well. While the stores were retail based, the business always required showmanship. The business always required knowledge. The business always required love of product. And the business always required a personal need to share something you love with so many others.

I got to do that from early 1983 until late 2009. In that time, I met many stars and creatives (Jeff Bridges, Robert Duvall, Ted Turner, Roy Disney, Robin Williams, Jennifer Connelly, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Selma Hayek, Barry Manilow, Barney, Henry Winkler, Steven Weber, Charleston Heston, Ice-T, and many others).

I also wrote for a video trade publication called VIDEO INSIDER, my stock in trade being Children’s Entertainment. I conducted interviews with MisterRogers, Shari Lewis, Raffi, Frank Zappa, Ithzak Perlman and many others who had family videos out.

I loved writing, but retail was my main profession. It also allowed me to attend annual VSDA conventions for retailers that put the Sand Diego Comic Cons to shame. The studio events were spectacular and the people I met were and are amazing.

Now that I can no longer work due to lung disability, I find the need to discover a way to continue these conversations about things that I love. Hello, Twitter (and Facebook).

One thing I’ve always loved is intelligent sci-fi. While I am a big fan of the 50’s sci-fi genre, much of the more recent sci-fi strikes me as too intent on overwhelming us. A great sci-fi story doesn’t hit us over the head with action because the story gets room to breathe and to involve.

That is why my favorite TV Show has been the original TWILIGHT ZONE. I was able to have a brief Twitter conversations with Colin Cunningham (John Pope on FALLING SKIES) about this, since he too shares a love of all things Rod Serling. In our “chat”, the importance of story and writing comes to the forefront. I don’t care how spectacular the visuals are, if you do not have the bedrock of great writing in place, you have nothing more than bright flickering lights.

That is what has struck me about FALLING SKIES. As you view it, there are so many nuances in the show and all of these nuances are well-thought out in the script and executed by the cast. Many of these are overt, many of them are under the surface, and many may be conclusions I’ve drawn based on past movies and shows. The intelligence of the writing allows for entire episodes like SANCTUARY PART 2 to unfold without ever showing a gooey alien. That is my favorite episode.

To go along with this, TNT TV has partnered with KLOUT to work out a social media campaign to drive conversation and promotion of FALLING SKIES through Twitter. This involves that hashtag that you’ve seen: #fsincentivized. This allows for tracking of tweets and is attached to an ARMY OF INFLUENCE LEADERBOARD. The Top Person at the end of Season One wins a walk on role for Season Two.

In addition, each week, items have been delivered to advance the story. These SURVIVAL KITS were sent to a limited number of people for this effort. I’ve had a blast doing it because I get to talk a lot, but also because I get to learn more about these social media campaigns and hopefully find a way to use my now limited abilities to get involved in these as a profession.

The top prize would be cool, but I’m having a blast talking with new friends like Hokuboku, NZRobFL. Sookietex, kimmyxoxo, DieselBT, jgraziani, Gizmotastic, and many more, plus cast members MphoAK, RVRocket, ConnorJessup, CunninghamColin, PeterShinkoda, TheStevenWeber, and others. In case you haven’t guessed, these are their Twitter names but these are also how I know them and love talking with them.

So, there is a brief reason why Skitters, Mechs, and harnessed kids are in my time line, along with the Phillies, Flyers, politics, sports, music, etc. And judging from the fun I am having with my new friends, I cannot wait to bring the rest of you into the 2nd Mass Resistance

Some previous FALLING SKIES POSTS….

FALLING SKIES: Ep. 8 What Lies Beneath

FALLING SKIES: Ep. 7 Sanctuary PT. 2

FALLING SKIES: SKITTERMANIACS!

FALLING SKIES: EP. 6 Sanctuary Pt. 1

FALLING SKIES: Ep. 5 Silent Kill

FALLING SKIES: Silly Questions

FALLING SKIES: Separated at Birth

FALLING SKIES: Ep. 4 Grace

FALLING SKIES: Ep. 3 Prisoners Of War

FALLING SKIES: Ep. 1-2 Premiere

Hope you enjoy them all.

2 comments on “FALLING SKIES: Yeah, I’ve Been Watching The “SKIES”

  1. oops, this is where it goes!

    Hey man, I just came across your page and you seem like an interesting, brave dude. We have some things in common. I’m a big hockey/Canucks fan (despite the riot). Flyers & Canucks are currently both near the top of their conferences, maybe they’ll meet next June.
    I’m an actor and have just starting working on Falling Skies. I play a character named Boon, who joins the 2nd Mass in season 2. Hopefully @1SkitterTweeter doesn’t mind that I’m one Skitter Killer! I hope you enjoy what I bring.
    And I wish you improved health.
    …oh, and our last names rhyme.
    Happy Holidays,
    Billy Wickman

  2. Then I will follow you over here 🙂

    First of all, nice to meet you. Secondly, @1SkitterTwitter is resourceful 😉

    Thanks for the kind words. I’ve been trying to use the blog to focus better, since the last couple of years have been a bit of a roller coaster, I’m also using it to try to capture part of what I used to do in the video business. Still trying to find things to write about, but I’ll get there.

    If you look back to the summer, you’ll even find some very long Falling Skies blog posts. I still have one to publish for the season ender, but I am saving it for closer to the new season.

    I’ve met some great fans of the show through Twitter and they’ve been really helpful and supportive, and also very creative. The cast on Twitter has also been the best. Mpho, Colin, Peter, Max, Connor, and others are a blast to follow there. Hopefully, you will join in. We have some great conversations.

    Welcome to the 2nd Mass. I hope yo continue to read and enjoy the blog and if we talk on Twitter, get ready for a lot of passion for my loves, especially the Flyers!

    Take care and I look forward to talking to you again. Rhyming name and all.

    Adrian

Leave a Reply

